The American Southwest Desert

Say the word desert and images of sands dunes radiating heat, or cactus and other prickly plants hiding rattlesnakes and roadrunners, or camels and Bedouin camps come to mind. The one word that best fits is “dry.”

The American Southwest Desert contains four distinct deserts:

  1. The Chihuahua Desert
  2. The Great Basin Desert
  3. The Mojave Desert
  4. The Sonoran Desert

The Chihuahua Desert covers parts of Texas, New Mexico and Arizona. With cool winters and scorching summers, the area receives less than 10” of rain a year. Mexican Dray Wolves still inhabit the region.

read more